Havana, Wednesday 17 de July de 2019 06:26 pm

Las Tunas and Matanzas sweep in first series of second round

Tamaño letra:

HAVANA, Cuba, Dec 19 (acn) Las Tunas and Matanzas completed the first sweeps of the second round of the Cuban baseball championship in the 2015-2016 season.

Las Tunas defeated 8-0 Isla de la Juventud, standing out the strong pitching performance of Yoen Socarrás, reinforcement from Sancti Spiritus, who only allowed two hits in seven innings, while Luis Manuel Suarez took the loss.

Third baseman Yordanis Alarcon homered and drove in four runs to lead the offensive of the winners, seconded by first baseman Edilse Silva , who came from Santiago de Cuba to strengthen the team coached by Ermidelio Urrutia, also homered.

Another one from Santiago, Danny Betancourt, led Matanzas to the triumph 7-0 on Holguin when allowing four hits in six innings, supported by Alexander Rodriguez's sixth save, while Walnier Osorio took the loss.

Outfielder Eduardo Blanco led the attack of the winners by hitting 3 for 4 with a double, a triple and four RBIs, seconded by DH Demis Valdes-3 for 4 with three runs- and first baseman Yasiel Santoya who hit a solo homer.

Despite giving away five walks and allow the same amount of hits, Yaifredo Dominguez managed to allow only two runs in five innings in the 7-3 win of Pinar del Rio over Granma, with offensive highlight for Dennis Laza, who hit a triple and a home run with four RBIs.

Finally, Industriales escaped from the sweep when defeating Ciego de Avila 8-5, with home runs to Stayler Hernandez, Alexander Malleta and Frank Camilo Morejon for the winners, and Ariel Borrero and Raul Gonzalez for the defeated.

Ciego de Avila takes the lead in the struggle for accessing to the postseason with a balance of 33 wins and 14 losses, followed by Industriales (31-17), Granma (30-18), Pinar del Río (29-18), Matanzas and Las Tunas (29-19), Holguin (26-22) and Isla de la Juventud (25-23).

Add comment

Security code

Find Us:

our agency

We have over 130 experenced news professionals in 17 offices that give coverage to the entire national territory. (See more)