Havana, Wednesday 17 de July de 2019 07:42 pm

Cuba Announces Baseball Team for Central American Games

Tamaño letra:

Cuba Announces Baseball Team for Central American GamesHAVANA, Cuba, Nov 6 (acn) The Cuban baseball team that will participate in the Central American and Caribbean Games, based in the Mexican city of Veracruz, was made up with the presence of 21 debutants in this kind of event.

The experienced Victor Mesa will be the head coach of the squad of 24 players, which includes only three veterans of the previous edition in Cartagena 2006, in Colombia: the infielders Alexander Malleta and Yulieski Gourriel, along with outfielder Frederich Cepeda.

In press conference at Latinoamericano Stadium, in Havana, Mesa highlighted the quality of the team, characterized by the versatility of its players, who will attend the traditional multidisciplinary event with the aim of winning the gold medal.

The side members will gather together on the aforementioned facility from next Friday for a brief period of training, which will include matches to finalize details about the order of the pitchers and the regular lineup, Mesa said.

The starting line-up could be Yosvani Alarcón as catcher, Alexander Malleta, Yulieski Gourriel, Luis Yander O and Yordan Manduley as infielders, with Alfredo Despaigne, Roel Santos and Alexei Bell in the outfield, and Yadiel Hernandez as DH, the manager added.

In the Central American and Caribbean Games, Cuba has won the baseball title 14 times -the last one was in 2006, and returns to the event after missing the edition of 2010, held in the Puerto Rican city of Mayaguez.

This is the entire list of the Cuba baseball team to Veracruz 2014 Caribbean and Central American Games:
Catches: Frank Camilo Morejón, Yosvani Alarcón and Yulexis La Rosa.

Infielders: Yulieski Gourriel, Lourdes Y. Gourriel, Alexander Malleta (L), Yordan Manduley, Luis Yander La O and Dainer Moreira.

Outfielders: Alfredo Despaigne, Alexei Bell, Roel Santos (L), Frederich Cepeda (S) and Yadiel Hernández (L).
Pitchers: Fredy Asiel Álvarez, Norge Luis Ruiz, Héctor Manuel Mendoza, Yoanni Year (L), Yosvany Torres, Yaisel Sierra, Vladimir Gutiérrez, Julio Alfredo Martínez (L), Cionel Pérez (L) and Jonder Martínez.

Add comment

Security code

Find Us:

our agency

We have over 130 experenced news professionals in 17 offices that give coverage to the entire national territory. (See more)