All for Joomla The Word of Web Design
October Thursday

Mirka Francia becomes fourth Cuban player inducted to the International Volleyball Hall of Fame

Mirka Francia becomes fourth Cuban player inducted to the International Volleyball Hall of FameHAVANA, Cuba, Nov 14 (acn) Mirka Francia became the fourth Cuban female player inducted to the International Volleyball Hall of Fame (IVHF), which since 1988 stimulates legendary players from its headquarters in Holyoke, Massachusetts, United States.

Previously, Regla Torres (2001) and Mireya Luis (2004), both three-time Olympic champions in Barcelona 1992, Atlanta 1996 and Sydney 2000; deserved that merit, the first of them shortly after being nominated as the best player of the twentieth century.
The twice Olympic monarch (92 and 96) Magaly Carvajal was inducted in 2011, long after the virtuous coach Eugenio George (2005) entered into the temple of immortals.
Francia, who was born in 1975, belongs to that group of exceptional Cuban female players, and her bulky curriculum includes the Olympic crowns of Atlanta and Sydney, as well as the world championships of 1994 and 1998
Although she was not regular, she did contribute to the triumphant stage that Cuban volleyball lived in the 1990s where she won the Grand Prix of 1993 and 2000, plus three silver and two bronze medals.
She also earned five titles in NORCECA tournaments, in addition to the Pan American Games of Havana 1991 and Mar del Plata 1995, and a third seat in Winnipeg 1999.
Her main individual prize was the best blocker award in the 1999 World Cup of Japan, won by Cuba unbeaten in 11 games and in which she had to assume greater responsibility, since the regular middle blocker Regla Torres was not present.
Francia also excelled in professional clubs in Italy for a decade, in which she accumulated titles in national leagues and European Cups.
The other inductees in 2019 were indoor players Russian Valentina Ogienko, Bulgarian Boris Gyuderov and Czech Josef Tesar; beach player Ze Marco de Melo (Brazil) and Coach Vasil Simov (Bulgaria).
With them, there are already 146 inductees from 24 countries who have earned such privilege that the IVHF grants annually.

Add comment

No se admiten ofensas, frases vulgares ni palabras obscenas.
Nos reservamos el derecho de no publicar los comentario que incumplan con las normas de este sitio

Security code