Havana, Tuesday 12 de November de 2019 07:21 pm

Vice President of Ghana starts official activities in Cuba

Tamaño letra:

Vice President of Ghana starts official activities in CubaHAVANA, Cuba, Jul 18 (ACN) The Vice President of the Republic of Ghana, Alhaji Mahamudu Bawumia, will continue today the program of his official visit to Cuba with the laying of a floral wreath at the statute of the National Hero, José Martí, in the Revolution Square.

The agenda for this day also includes participation in the central graduation ceremony of the University of Medical Sciences of Havana, which will take place in the afternoon at the Karl Marx theatre in the capital.
His itinerary also includes a tribute at the Parque de los Próceres and a meeting with authorities from the government of Cuba.
In this sense, the Cuban Ministry of Foreign Affairs specifies that during his stay, the distinguished visitor will hold official conversations with the vice president of the Councils of State and Ministers, Inés María Chapman Waugh.
The visit seeks to expand the bonds of cooperation between Cuba and Ghana and occurs in the year that marks the 60th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations between the two nations.
In these six decades, strong ties of friendship have been established and cooperation fostered in areas such as agriculture, tourism, sports, education, science, technology and health.
Ghana was the first country in sub-Saharan Africa to establish diplomatic relations with the island, and Cuban medical collaboration began in 1983. By the year 2000, the Comprehensive Health Program was initiated.
Today, almost 20 Cuban health professionals offer their services to the African country, while some 458 young people from that nation are trained in Cuban universities.
Recently, Cuba was the destination of the official visit of the President of the Republic of Ghana, His Excellency Mr. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.


Add comment

Security code

Find Us:

our agency

We have over 130 experenced news professionals in 17 offices that give coverage to the entire national territory. (See more)