Havana, Sunday 19 de May de 2019 04:50 am

Six Cuban players to Women´s Continental Chess Championship of the Americas

Tamaño letra:

HAVANA, Cuba, Nov 13 (acn) Six Cubans will attend the 11th Women´s Continental Chess Championship of the Americas, to be hosted from next November 17 to 24 by the Colombian city of Envigado.

This tournament will grant one ticket to the 2019 Women´s World Championship, while the players ranking second and third will earn the title of Grand Master (GM) and International Master (IM), in that order.
The option to become GM along with the scepter will be a special attraction for the Cuban current monarch Lisandra Llaudy, third seed of the contest with 2,303 Elo points, only surpassed by Peruvian Deisy Cori (2406) and Argentina Carolina Lujan (2364).
Llaudy was the Cuban best player in the World Olympiad, last September, and could take advantage of her good moment to try to earn a prize she has never won.
In addition to the aforementioned players, the competition will also be attended by other prestigious players such as Cubans Maritza Arribas (2257), Yaniet Marrero (2253) and Tania Miranda (2247), as well as the locals Melissa Castrillon (2302) and Paula Andrea Rodriguez (2275).
The group of Cubans is completed with Ana Flavia Roca (2132) and Yoana Gonzalez (2058), two young figures with less level than those previously mentioned.


Add comment

Security code

Find Us:

our agency

We have over 130 experenced news professionals in 17 offices that give coverage to the entire national territory. (See more)