Havana, Friday 19 de April de 2019 07:00 pm

Cuban Baseball Team Wins Caribbean Series

Tamaño letra:

Cuban Baseball Team Wins Caribbean SeriesHAVANA, Cuba, Feb 9 (acn) Cuba made history in San Juan-2015 Caribbean Baseball Series, in Puerto Rico, by beating 3-2 on Sunday the Culiacan Tomateros (Mexico) to win its eighth crown in these contests.

The right-hander Yosvani Torres was awarded the victory for the cause of the Pinar del Río Vegueros in a solid six innings performance, during which he silenced the Mexicans to the extreme of allowing only two hits and one earned run, with five strikeouts.

Cuba scored twice in the first two innings thanks to RBIs by Frederich Cepeda and Luis Yander La O respectively off the defeated pitcher Anthony Vásquez.

The Culiacan Tomateros scored once in the fifth inning, run driven by Walter Ibarra, but Cuban second baseman Yuliesky Gourriel hit a solo homer in the eighth inning off reliever Juan Delgadillo, scoring thus the decisive run.

Mexico managed to score again in the bottom of the eighth one more run driven this time by Eric Farris but Cuban closer Hector Mendoza took the save by allowing no hits in the ninth with two strikeouts.

Gourriel hit 2 for 4 with two runs and the decisive solo homer to lead Cuban offensive.

Upon completion of the competition, the organizers included in the All-Star team to Cubans Mendoza (relief pitcher), Gourriel (second base), La O ( third base) and Cepeda (DH), the latter was also awarded MVP of the event.

In addition to his significant contribution in the match for the title, Cepeda hit 4 for 5 with two doubles, a triple and five RBIs in the semifinal against Venezuela, and in total he had an average of .471 with seven RBIs in his first Caribbean classic.

With its spectacular win against Mexico, Cuba was crowned for the eighth time in the traditional baseball tournament, to erase its pale performance of 2014 in Margarita Island, Venezuela, where it finished last in its return to the event after more than half a century of absence.

Since the initial tournament in 1949, Cuban teams were the top leaders of the Caribbean classic, to win the crown in seven of the 12 editions in which they were involved, the last time was in 1960 through the Cienfuegos Elephants.

Add comment

Security code

Find Us:

our agency

We have over 130 experenced news professionals in 17 offices that give coverage to the entire national territory. (See more)