Havana, Wednesday 22 de May de 2019 06:39 am

Pastors for Peace Caravan receives Distinguished Visitor Award

Tamaño letra:

Pastors for Peace Caravan receives Distinguished Visitor AwardSANTIAGO DE CUBA, Cuba, Nov 21 (ACN) The Pastors for Peace Caravan received on Tuesday, in this city, the Distinguished Visitor Award, which is given by the Municipal Assembly of People's Power to those who support the development of the territory.

Enais Palacios Acosta, secretary of the governing body at that instance, read the resolution that highlights the altruistic attitude of this solidarity movement, founded by the North American Reverend Lucius Walker.

His daughter Gail Walker, who traveled in front of 26 caravanistas from almost a dozen countries, thanked the gesture and said that the American friends of Cuba will continue saying "No more blockade".

The recognition was placed in the hands of the younger and older members: María Amanda Barrios, 8, and Jack Arthur Wiedenmann, 85, both Americans.

Before the reception, the group exchanged with deputies to the Cuban parliament and delegates to the Municipal and Provincial Assembly of People's Power, at the latter's headquarters.

The Caravanistas received a detailed explanation about the local government bodies, the electoral process and about the current constitutional reform that the country is carrying out, an issue that motivated numerous questions.

Gail Walker, who has followed the tireless example of her father, said that the information that comes to them from Cuba is distorted and that this is a good opportunity to learn about the reality of the country and its political system.

Fernando González Llort, Hero of the Republic of Cuba and president of the Cuban Institute of Friendship with the Peoples, and Lourdes Remón Brizuela, secretary of the Provincial Assembly of People's Power, presided over the meeting and said he would wait for them next year, in caravan number 30.


Add comment

Security code

Find Us:

our agency

We have over 130 experenced news professionals in 17 offices that give coverage to the entire national territory. (See more)